Just Add Artificial Intelligence

I am a member of Generation X, even if it is just by a year, I embrace many of the characteristics of this generation. I can identify with Meeker’s description of the Generation X, as I am cautious regarding finances and I value self-sufficiency (2016). Meeker (2016) suggests that Generation X members traditionally embrace technology and “seamlessly” integrate technology into their lives every day; however, this is where I divert from Generation X. I have been slow to adopt many forms of technology. I consider myself Mac illiterate, I resist upgrading my iPhone from my iPhone 6, and I still check out books at the library, yet I understand that the future is here and I need to embrace it. Some forms of technology I simply have not embraced, but I do recognize the significant value that technology brings to knowledge acquisition. Weinberger (2011) offers five ideas about the networking of knowledge which include; open access, provide the hooks for intelligence, link everything, leave no institutional knowledge behind, and teach everyone. These ideas all can help to make the net more conducive for offering knowledge to consumers. As technology rapidly changes and evolves, to stay current and adapt, we must accept change and embrace the knowledge that the net can offer.

Technology is rapidly changing and the changes are inevitable. It seems like just as I acquired my iPhone 6, the same day, my phone was asking me to do a system update. How fast technology changes offers us a glimpse of how much technology of the future will be different than what we see today and reminds us of how close we are to technology of the future.  To keep up with the rapid changes of technology we must work with, not against technology (Kelly, 2016). Kelly (2016) suggests that we steer technology to stay ahead of it. Much of the artificial intelligence (AI) that many think they are against is already here and present in many of our modern conveniences such as touch screens, induction cooking, and GPS (Corning, 2016). The technology of the future is essentially the technology that we have today with artificial intelligence added to it. One way that that we can learn to steer technology and AI is by working to better understand intelligence and the types that exist. A better understanding of intelligence can open the door for inventing a new type of intelligence or thinking. Much of the knowledge acquisition can come from the concept that knowledge from scholars is readily available and open for access on the net and that metadata and hyperlinks can enhance intelligence (Weinberger, 2011). Additionally, the connectivity of the web can also be a key factor in increasing intelligence because of the multitudes of contributors and the diversity if thought of each contributor (Weinberger, 2011).

As we enter what Kelly (2016) considers the second industrial revolution, we will need to embrace robots and appreciate the efficiency that robots bring. According to Kelly (2016), most of what we do as humans is not efficient, such as art, relationships, and innovation. However, if we work with robots we can become more efficient if we work as a team and combine AI with the cognition that human thought brings (Kelly, 2016). It appears that the greatest level of efficiency can come if we can combine multiple forms of intelligence, while factoring on the societal changes ahead (Meeker, 2016). The change that I believe will be most significant to the future of AI and technology is analytics and the web. In contrast, what is most surprising to me is the demographic shift in web usage. For example, it was a shock to me that Meeker (2016) reported that India’s internet usage is increasing. To be prepared for this second industrial revolution it is also important that we not make the net elite or exclusive, but instead teach everyone how to use the web (Weinberger, 2011).

As we move forward in technology and accept the rapid changes of technology, I think it is important that we embrace AI as an inevitable aspect of technology, while understanding the value of the intelligence that human thought brings to intelligence. The best approach to dealing with the technology revolution is to approach it as a team, a team constructed of efficient robot artificial intelligence and humans as constructors of knowledge. The future of technology will be different, but with knowledge we can be prepared for the future.

Reference:

Weinberger, D. (2011). Too big to know. New York, New York: Basic Books.

6 thoughts on “Just Add Artificial Intelligence

  1. Thanks for your blog and your reflection on your appreciation of technology as a part of Generation X. There is a trend that the younger generations are more open to emerging technologies like the Internet and the associated Artificial Intelligence (Meeker, 2016). You note that a combination of AI and human intelligence will be more effective than only human or AI intelligence as Kelly (2016) notes. Do you see the future generations going for more efficiency and allowing humans to implant technologies that may make them more efficient but lacking in freedom? Would that matter for future generations or do you think efficiency will be preferred?

    Reference

    Kelly, K. (2016, June). How AI can bring on a second industrial revolution. Retrieved from https://embed.ted.com/talks/kevin_kelly_how_ai_can_bring_on_a_second_industrial_revolution

    Meeker, M. (2016, June 1). Internet trends 2016 – Code conference. Retrieved from https://www.slideshare.net/mobile/kleinerperkins/2016-internet-trends-report

    Like

    1. Without any research backing this opinion,I do think that efficiency will outweigh all other formats of technology. I think we have placed a great value on the second revolution (Kelly, 2016) and as a result we must embrace the collaboration between robots and human technology because it is this relationship that drives technology. I think above all, we must shift our thinking and add AI technology to each part of technology that we think is plausible for the future. I believe that if we add AI to the technology of future generations, we will meet the demands of the future of technology.
      Reference

      Kelly, K. (2016, June). How AI can bring on a second industrial revolution. Retrieved from https://embed.ted.com/talks/kevin_kelly_how_ai_can_bring_on_a_second_industrial_revolution

      Like

  2. Hello Adrienne,

    I got a kick out of your post since I exhibit the same Gen-X issues as you when it comes to technology. I do not so much fear technology and AI but rather I worry about how much time technology takes away from my day with trying to stay current on my various communication platforms along with figuring out new pieces of equipment which all now seem to be a part of the ‘internet of things’ and all offer Wi-Fi connections. Your mention of induction cooking made me laugh since I spent a few hours yesterday cleaning my induction stove and I was not impressed with the AI function. If the stove is so ‘smart’, why must I still clean it the old fashioned way with elbow grease and baking soda? (That’s a rhetorical question, no need for an answer.) I agree with your take on AI and that we humans need to find ways to understand the next industrial revolution which is probably already here (Kelly, 2017). Also like Kelly (2017), I do not think that robots and AI will necessarily replace humans in the workplace to the scale that some thinkers believe we are headed for mass unemployment caused by robots. I liked the way Kelly (2017) stated that we should be trying to prepare for jobs that do not yet exist. Do you think that robots and AI will be replacing people on a massive scale in the workplace?
    Ben Hammer

    Reference:

    Kelly, K. (2017, January 12). How AI can bring on a second industrial revolution. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/IjbTiRbeNpM

    Like

    1. Hi Ben,
      I do not think that AI will replace people in a massive skill in the workplace. I agree with Kelly (2017) that we need prepare for the role that AI will play in the future of robots; however, I do not think that AI will replace people in the workplace. I do think we need to find a way to work in collaboration with robots so that we can be better prepared for the future. Humans can sill be ahead of AI if humans are the ones responsible for what robots know.
      Adrienne

      Like

  3. Adrienne:
    Enjoyed your post again. I have purposefully avoided some popular technologies, especially the social media technologies. I know I should be more engaged but I have stayed away. My reasons over the years are several — I don’t have time for that, I feel the potential for harm outweighs the potential for good, and so on. Beyond the emotional reasons, I feel obligated to think critically about everything to which I dedicate time and energy. Recently, my sense has become, people are so active on social media sites because it is easy. Instead of working on budgets, or mentoring a new employee, or reading two additional articles on a critical topic, it is just easier to get involved in easy, busy work; and it is probably more pleasurable in many instances. I applaud leaders who are open to change and innovation but who also know what is important for themselves and their area of leadership and who evaluate things critically and strategically. If leaders try to adopt every new technology that comes along it may divert them from their true purposes. Perhaps it is more appropriate for leaders to evaluate where we need innovation, research what technology or product will address/expedite the innovation, and purposefully adopt that technology. Am I making any sense? What thoughts do you have? I hope I am not the Luddite of the 21st century, as some might suspect.

    Randy Roberts

    Like

    1. Hi Randy,
      You do make sense. I understand your position on social media, but I think even if we are not participators in social media, we still inevitably participate in acceptance of artificial intelligence. From this weeks videos and readings I came to realize that artificial intelligence is everywhere and is part of all of the modern conveniences that we have come to rely upon. When I thought about the notion that artificial intelligence is even part of GPS technology. I do agree that we needs to evaluate our needs for innovation as leaders and purposefully adopt technology. Regardless of what is appropriate for an organization, I think it is important to recognize that artificial intelligence is part of any technology that we adopt.

      Adrienne

      Like

Leave a Reply

